Community Forum

Over the years we have built up a community of email marketers, coders and designers that live and breathe email.

Use the Email on Acid Forum like your virtual water cooler: Stop by to discuss email code, quirky clients and fixes and post your issues (with an example of the code) for our community to offer its assistance.

Does border-collpase: collapse; need to be on every td?

jamesread

Total Posts:  3
Posted: 29 October 2016 06:23 PM

Should I just leave it in the head like:

td { border:collpase:collapse:} and just let the inliner handle it?

What if I don’t use an inliner? Do I have to add it manually to every single td? 

Or should I inline it so that it applies to every td?

I’m new to email dev and I’m learning from tons of different sources and one says this, the other says that. It’s hard to know what’s right.

I know modern HTML and CSS. Thank you so much for any advice.

Alex Ilhan

Administrator
Total Posts:  224
Posted: 31 October 2016 04:16 AM
[ # 1 ]

Hi Jamesread,

Welcome to the Email on Acid forums!

I’m excited to hear you’re learning email development, it’s a journey for sure!

The reason we add border-collapse:collapse to certain tables and tds is simply to collapse the border into 1 border. Some email clients will add a bit of extra spacing where we don’t include that. It should be fine just in the head of your email, but if you’re seeing certain tables or tds breaking out you can add it to those specific tables as a fix.

Let me know how you get on! I’m always happy to help with any questions you have.

Cheers,
Alex

jamesread

Posted: 01 November 2016 07:18 PM
[ # 2 ]

Awesome. That’s very helpful. It’s easy to get overwhelmed with all this stuff.

I’ve built my first design, tested it and all that good stuff. Pretty much have found out that due to MSO making us specify fixed image widths and Gmail not supporting media queries, I’m forced to learn the hybrid approach? Is this pretty much the way of the email world?