Community Forum

Over the years we have built up a community of email marketers, coders and designers that live and breathe email.

Use the Email on Acid Forum like your virtual water cooler: Stop by to discuss email code, quirky clients and fixes and post your issues (with an example of the code) for our community to offer its assistance.

How to create a 4x4 grid table

Giulia

Total Posts:  7
Posted: 20 October 2016 01:49 AM

Hi all,

I have another problem (and yes, I am not a HTLM expert). In this email I am not able to make this table work https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/DRnHFYXVFWLsQu1NliqUefmxKdCs6Zf1bXrTCkXD8jtWM/shared

Somehow the different columns are not of the same size. What did I wrong???
I also have attached the HTML file.
pleaseeeee, HELP me!!!!!!

File Attachments
4x4 grid table.pdf  (File Size: 86KB - Downloads: 103)

leinverheij

Total Posts:  13
Posted: 20 October 2016 02:19 AM
[ # 1 ]

Hi!

In the first row you have the widths set to: width=“142”, width=“300”, width=“142”, width=“300”
While the second row only has width=“142” set for all 4 columns.

Also, there seem to be a stray <tbody> just before the first 4 column row, which shouldn’t be there.

The spacer below the 2 4 column rows misses the colspan=“4”:

<tr>
  <td height=“15” class=“em_spc_20”> </td>
</tr>

Personally I hate using colspan. I’d rather just start a new table to keep everything neat and tidy.

Hope this helps,
Lein

Giulia

Total Posts:  7
Posted: 20 October 2016 07:44 AM
[ # 2 ]

Thank you for your help. However, the table didn’t change :( it’s still rendering oddly!

leinverheij

Total Posts:  13
Posted: 20 October 2016 07:02 PM
[ # 3 ]

Hi,

It’s always wise to validate your html in https://validator.w3.org/check so pick out any incorrect html.

I’ve found that you’ve written lots of css wrong. It’s font-family, font-size, line-height, mso-line-height-rule (with a dash in between the words). You seem to mix writing it correctly and incorrectly.