Community Forum

Over the years we have built up a community of email marketers, coders and designers that live and breathe email.

Use the Email on Acid Forum like your virtual water cooler: Stop by to discuss email code, quirky clients and fixes and post your issues (with an example of the code) for our community to offer its assistance.

 
   
Email template renders fine in Outlook 16, but not Outlook 13

jaalders

Newbie
Total Posts:  4
Posted: 28 January 2016 07:20 AM

Hey all,

So I have an odd situation where I can’t seem to find the “butter zone” when rendering my email template.

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/HHThpto9NWlB0pkVoAJPnvOVRi7GcnGVHD9efhT9rTHA5/shared

With this current link I have been able to generate a email template successfully for Outlook 16, but 13 seems to not render the masthead image properly. I can change some things in my header and then 13 will render the masthead, but then 16 will no longer render properly.

I can’t seem to figure out how to get both versions to cooperate. Any help you can lend would be much appreciated!

Cheers,

-J

EDIT: If I remove the following code from my header:

<style>

    <!--
[if (gte mso 9)|(IE)]>
    <
style type="text/css">
        
table {border-collapsecollapse;}
    
</style>
    <!
[endif]-->
  <!--
[if gte mso 15]>
  <
style type="text/css">
    
table { font-size:1pxline-height:0mso-margin-top-alt:1px}
  
</style>
  <!
[endif]-->

    </
style

Outlook 16 will render properly, however 13 still remains broken.


 

Geoff Phillips

Avatar
Moderator
Total Posts:  386
Posted: 28 January 2016 09:06 AM
[ # 1 ]

jaalders,
Hi there, welcome to the forum!

I took a look at this issue, and it’s not actually a problem with your code. We have had some issues with the Outlook clients taking too long to load screenshots. I reprocessed the ones with missing background images a few times and eventually got a more accurate result back: https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/KAwk7rNtQGB3PvvYLVMJVvkKytLEFFoF3VAsokZfLNU7E/shared

We’re working on getting this issue fixed. Sorry for any inconvenience!


 

jaalders

Newbie
Total Posts:  4
Posted: 28 January 2016 01:06 PM
[ # 2 ]

Do you have an ETA of when this will be fixed. I am still actively working on this email template and just would like to know when I can expect full functionality for testing.


 

Geoff Phillips

Avatar
Moderator
Total Posts:  386
Posted: 28 January 2016 01:18 PM
[ # 3 ]

jaalders,
I’m sorry, but we don’t have an ETA right now. We are working to get this fixed as quickly as we can. I’ll let you know when we have the fix in place.

Very sorry for these issues with testing. Please let me know if we can help with anything else.


 

jaalders

Newbie
Total Posts:  4
Posted: 29 January 2016 08:44 AM
[ # 4 ]

Hey Geoff,

That is not an issue, I understand things take time. Would it be possible for you to do a re-run on the following two links for me, I would like to wrap this up, but I need visual confirmation that all versions of Outlook are working correctly.

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/0cEpaCozIER61piW64pUvNkvccYIw8ogvmpCfvO4upYzr/shared - Sask Prepaid

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/nJ7HY10Gs7Tceeq1qY2Y2d0Mlxk706k8O79rSxx1Pcl3t/shared - Sask Postpaid

Thank you very much!

Cheers,

-J


 

Geoff Phillips

Avatar
Moderator
Total Posts:  386
Posted: 29 January 2016 09:42 AM
[ # 5 ]

jaalders,
No problem! I have reprocessed those clients for you so that you can see the background image in all of the Outlooks.

If you need to reprocess a client in the future, here are instructions to do so: https://www.emailonacid.com/help-center/article/testing/email-testing/how-do-i-submit-a-retest

Please let me know if I can help with anything else.


 

jaalders

Newbie
Total Posts:  4
Posted: 29 January 2016 10:27 AM
[ # 6 ]

Hi Geoff,

I really appreciate the help. I have tried using the resubmit function as per the link you suggested before, however when I had tried for a re-process I would just end up seeing the same broken background as before, hence me asking you to do the reprocess.

Everything seems to be working a-okay now!

Cheers, and thanks again!

-J


 

mmspos

Newbie
Total Posts:  10
Posted: 05 February 2016 08:34 AM
[ # 7 ]

Hi Geoff,

jaalders again! I convinced the company to purchase an account with you folks cause the service has been so good.

I seem to still be running into the issue where Outlook 13/16 is having troubles rendering my images. I understand that you are still having issues with the Outlook servers, however if I try to resubmit for a new screenshot by myself, I am just served the same images as before without any images render for 13/16

Would you be able to do a reprocess again for me since you have had more luck with it than myself?

Here is the links I would like you to reprocess for me:

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/0JpyvOqSby0PecwSItNbMmcRfJ7zciLxy3eLPMImAGWpl/shared - business xfer

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/24b43y0dIUinHT6TO4HGX0xHlWxoiHpztXOQO9NJB49dy/shared - consumer xfer

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/YVto8fXMws5kiuPmBMTPAnqwBFUL308Aj0LbuP8sgDtPh/shared - business disability

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/CxqcUBeFfLuVg0vJ5Zo5Jg3vdPkqZ0Ljt4BPHMN84OH84/shared - consumer disability

Again I really hate to bother you with this reprocessing, however unfortunately I cannot get the team lead to sign off on these until Outlook has been resolved. I hope you folks are able to remedy the issues regarding Outlook soon.

Cheers! And thanks again!

-J


 

Geoff Phillips

Avatar
Moderator
Total Posts:  386
Posted: 05 February 2016 09:30 AM
[ # 8 ]

Hi jaalders,
I reprocessed those for you, you should be able to see background images in all of them now. Sorry about the inconvenience there.

Let me know if you need anything else!


 

mmspos

Newbie
Total Posts:  10
Posted: 11 February 2016 08:37 AM
[ # 9 ]

Hi Geoff,

It seems that I am still having trouble rendering in Outlook… I am a little frustrated with the fact that I have to ask you folks to do reprocessing on each of these templates… I have been very fortunate that the work that I have been doing has not had hard deadlines, but if it should change I do worry for the additional time I would have to wait for an admin to reprocess.

Anyways, please if you could reprocess the following for me that would be great!

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/I2aSSDxa7GIuqCrHw7lQpDpDaDvAyoVmFifT29gTEHvRn/shared - 1330

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/igSaWPkKPSxkvnjT4SlKYf4chuhN00wRFrYqWwi1ZTnks/shared - 1331

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/7zhb4xORShXBT8clRBuG9BopX0o5qmGU6zBrGezqcrfx8/shared - 1329

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/PhIPV12ZydhQUTcylsLV6YJPYbBzl4ROtxG0yckNxGR7J/shared - 1387

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/Qi3DnUvioQFgBbqtUlKFSn5rSROeezLsucRffMcLV4Yby/shared - 1386

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/QZuEMVGZIYdxSApHt7YxJKytkcNta6u1FYtFRloqfoPwP/shared - 1384

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/frMEa9etRz1caAOfw7256YeX9ZaNB6MfSwutb2Yyvxrf5/shared - 1385

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/sWOl9yXpKPwpEOCFKmC7LN8SKSK1U6PNFVX7fet1ThcPO/shared - 1389

https://www.emailonacid.com/app/acidtest/display/summary/NoGPhkF1agERbIZYS2Ef4zUtlIa8xoYZkP6Mpttjnmda0/shared - 1388

Thank you very much!

-J


 

Geoff Phillips

Avatar
Moderator
Total Posts:  386
Posted: 11 February 2016 04:16 PM
[ # 10 ]

jaalders,
I’m sorry, but unfortunately I wasn’t able to get those screenshots to reprocess successfully. Our system is processing the screenshots before the images can load, no matter how many times I try to reprocess it. We are currently working on some changes to the system that should enable the screenshot to process correctly. I know it’s important that you get an accurate result on the first try, and we’re making every effort to make that a reality.

Tomorrow, after these changes have gone into effect, I will reprocess the tests you listed above. Hopefully we can get a set of accurate results then. Again, I’m very sorry for the delay and the inconvenience. Please let me know if there’s anything else I can do to help.


 

mmspos

Newbie
Total Posts:  10
Posted: 12 February 2016 07:14 AM
[ # 11 ]

Sounds good, just post back here when you are able to resolve the issue.


 

mmspos

Newbie
Total Posts:  10
Posted: 16 February 2016 12:38 PM
[ # 12 ]

bumping for status.


 

Geoff Phillips

Avatar
Moderator
Total Posts:  386
Posted: 16 February 2016 01:21 PM
[ # 13 ]

jaalders,
We have tried a few things to get those email clients working properly, but thus far none of them have worked. Sorry for the delay on this.

I’ll let you know when we find a fix that works.


 

mmspos

Newbie
Total Posts:  10
Posted: 23 February 2016 11:41 AM
[ # 14 ]

Just touching in again to see if there has been any change. My superiors are now requesting these templates and would like to be able to successfully showcase all browser versions working successfully.

Again, I know that this takes time, however, I was the person who was responsible for vetting other email providers (Litmus) I went with your service because of the pricing and the fact that I had used your service before. This really looks bad on me when I am telling my superiors to spend money on a product that does not fully cover our needs.

I really hope that this can be changed soon. I really need these templates to be re-ran ASAP to ensure all version work correctly.

Thanks again,

-J


 

John Thies

Avatar
Administrator
Total Posts:  59
Posted: 25 February 2016 10:14 AM
[ # 15 ]

Hi mmspos,

My name is John Thies and I am one of the co-founders here at Email on Acid. I certainly understand your frustration on this issue and to be completely honest, I would be as well. I wanted to let you know that we have found a solution for this issue, unfortunately it’s not a quick fix. Please know that we are working diligently to get this issue resolved. I will keep you updated on the progress.

I really appreciate your business and I’m very sorry if this has in any way cast a negative light on you.

Please let me know if I can answer any other questions.

Thanks,
John