Community Forum

Over the years we have built up a community of email marketers, coders and designers that live and breathe email.

Use the Email on Acid Forum like your virtual water cooler: Stop by to discuss email code, quirky clients and fixes and post your issues (with an example of the code) for our community to offer its assistance.

 
   
Cumulative Table Cell Width Attributes do not Match Parent TABLE

rmorris

Newbie
Total Posts:  5
Posted: 12 August 2010 06:57 AM

Cumulative Table Cell Width Attributes do not Match Parent TABLE

I get this error message when performing test. Can someone please give me more detailed information about this message?

Most of my layouts have a table that is 100% wide then I have a 600px fixed width table inside that. Could this be causing that message? I removed the 100% table and added a <div align=“center” tag, same message.

Thanks for any help!


 

acidadmin

Avatar
Administrator
Total Posts:  43
Posted: 12 August 2010 08:16 AM
[ # 1 ]

jbakes,  This is a very important question and we are very happy that you posted it to the forum. 

One of our biggest challenges is simulating browser differences for desktop clients.  Let’s take Outlook 2003 for example.  That client uses IE as its primary rendering engine.  So if you run an Acid test in Firefox, we try to simulate your layout as it would appear in IE.

One of the quarky differences between those two browsers is the way they handle width attributes for TDs.  If you take this code:

<table width=400>
   <
tr>
     <
td width=300><br /></td>
     <
td><br /></td>
<
table

IE will force the width of the first cell to 300 as if it were a block element, whereas Firefox will ignore it and do a 50/50 split.  Since there isn’t another value, Firefox assumes that the first TD is an inline element.

Now if you try this:

<table width=400>
   <
tr>
     <
td width=300><br /></td>
     <
td width=100><br /></td>
<
table

Both browsers will enforce the width of each table cell.

Our checker tells you we can’t guarantee test results unless the total of your TD attributes match the total of your table attribute, however at this time we do not accommodate for percentages, thus you are getting the error.

We plan on fixing this but in a release scheduled for October, we plan to take it one step further.  Instead of offering a code based simulation for Outlook 03 in Firefox, we plan on just rendering screen captures.  So we will check your browser/OS and give you options for code based simulations/screen captures that will guarantee absolute accuracy. 

We hope this helps to answer your question!


 

rmorris

Newbie
Total Posts:  5
Posted: 12 August 2010 08:21 AM
[ # 2 ]

Yep! Thank you!


 

acidadmin

Avatar
Administrator
Total Posts:  43
Posted: 12 August 2010 08:25 AM
[ # 3 ]

One last note:

In the meantime, whenever you get that error, just test your layout in IE and Firefox before running a test.  If everything looks good, you can ignore the warning.

If you are on a Mac and you don’t have access to IE, you might want to run a few tests in Outlook 07/2010 and Lotus 8.0/8.5 first - for each of those clients we render screen captures.  If your email looks good there, you will be golden in all the other IE based desktop clients.  That list includes:

Outlook Express, Outlook 2003, Windows Live Mail and Windows Mail

oh and…
and all users who might be visiting web clients from IE.

Cheers and happy testing!


 

rochow

Newbie
Total Posts:  1
Posted: 01 September 2010 12:19 AM
[ # 4 ]

“Instead of offering a code based simulation for Outlook 03 in Firefox, we plan on just rendering screen captures”

Actually, this would be good for all clients, to have a screenshot too (to make it as ‘native’ as possible, while still having the current web version you can play with).

A step further would also be rendering for a handful of different browsers, for instance:
- Gmail (that you can play with, as it is at the moment)
- IE Gmail (screenshot)
- FF Gmail (screenshot)
- Webkit gmail (screenshot)

Of course, the combinations are almost endless… which is also why it’d be brilliant, because there’s no way you’d check every single combo manually. Definitely worth more money, and also puts your service leaps and bounds ahead of what everyone else offers!


 

acidadmin

Avatar
Administrator
Total Posts:  43
Posted: 01 September 2010 09:03 AM
[ # 5 ]

rochow,

Great point! This is exactly where we are headed.  We plan to continue to release screen shot counterparts to our code based simulations very soon smile

Thanks for the great feedback!