Community Forum

Over the years we have built up a community of email marketers, coders and designers that live and breathe email.

Use the Email on Acid Forum like your virtual water cooler: Stop by to discuss email code, quirky clients and fixes and post your issues (with an example of the code) for our community to offer its assistance.

Gmail Style Tag

pclark2

Total Posts:  3
Posted: 13 December 2016 12:46 PM

I still haven’t been able to see Gmail supporting the style tag and media queries in the real world.  My personal phone runs Android 7 and runs the latest version of the Gmail App (updated earlier today even), and yet no test works.  I did an extremely basic test that works basically everywhere except Gmail.  Am I just missing something?  I’m still a novice at all of this.  Here is the test:

<html>
<head>
<title>test</title>
<style type=“text/css”>
body {
  background-color: green !important;
}
</style>
</head>

<body style=“background-color: red;”>
Green = Styles respected

Red = Not
</body>
</html>

Thank you!

waterrf

Total Posts:  9
Posted: 13 December 2016 05:09 PM
[ # 1 ]

It’s not working here because inline CSS styles always override CSS styles in the head tag.

Test it by using HTML to define the color in the body instead of CSS. <body bgcolor=“red”>

(I’m new posting here, so I’m linking to the attribute page on W3C, just in case the code doesn’t display: http://www.w3schools.com/tags/att_body_bgcolor.asp)

pclark2

Posted: 14 December 2016 08:06 AM
[ # 2 ]

Oddly for my Gmail app (Android 7 on Nexus 6) doesn’t like bgcolor on the body tag either.  Elsewhere sure, but not there even though inlined css works there.  Odd.  So I did more tests on things like tables and without any background mentioned anywhere in the body/html and only in the header, all with no luck in Gmail.

My best guess is Google is simply still rolling this support out and it hasn’t made it everywhere yet.  Sad.