Community Forum

Over the years we have built up a community of email marketers, coders and designers that live and breathe email.

Use the Email on Acid Forum like your virtual water cooler: Stop by to discuss email code, quirky clients and fixes and post your issues (with an example of the code) for our community to offer its assistance.

 
   
Yahoo displaying emails twice

ssauer

Newbie
Total Posts:  2
Posted: 26 October 2011 10:57 AM

Hi,

I was just wondering if anyone has had issues with Yahoo displaying an email twice.  It shows the first full email, and then directly below displays some of the HTML again…

I’ve had this happen twice now.

Thanks!


 

Michelle Klann

Avatar
Administrator
Total Posts:  204
Posted: 26 October 2011 12:42 PM
[ # 1 ]

Hello,

Thanks for contacting our customer support! 

It sounds like there might be an issue with the way our screen shot is being parsed together.  We process screen shots for AOL in several browsers, what browser is the issue occurring in? 

Did it happen twice in one day or is this an issue you saw a while ago? Was it in the same browser?  We’d like to see if we can recreate the same results on our end.

Miki


 

catmcbride

Avatar
Newbie
Total Posts:  2
Posted: 27 October 2011 05:01 PM
[ # 2 ]

Same thing is happening to me. In Chrome 9 (Win). I don’t even get the whole email, just part of it, then it repeats again.


 

John Thies

Avatar
Administrator
Total Posts:  52
Posted: 27 October 2011 05:06 PM
[ # 3 ]

Greetings, we apologize that this is happening to you guys. We will need some more information to properly troubleshoot the issue.

Which browser version of Yahoo! in the test result is repeating for you (i.e. IE8, IE9, FF3.6, FF4, etc)? Or is it happening to all of the browser screen-shots for Yahoo! Mail?


 

catmcbride

Avatar
Newbie
Total Posts:  2
Posted: 27 October 2011 05:10 PM
[ # 4 ]

Chrome 9 (Win)

I tried to add a screen shot but you are “unable to accept file attachments at this time.”


 

ssauer

Newbie
Total Posts:  2
Posted: 02 November 2011 10:31 AM
[ # 5 ]

Hi,

I think we figured out the problem, at least with our email!  We isolated the copy causing the problem.  “Galveston, Texas” was causing our email to repeat.  Yahoo was adding a tag around that copy, and that’s where the repeating started.

Do any of you have a city/state in your copy?

-Sarah Sauer


 

rcb

Newbie
Total Posts:  3
Posted: 18 November 2011 09:35 AM
[ # 6 ]

Sarah,

I have a city/state in my email. This is definitely a Yahoo issue; it doesn’t stem from the Email on Acid screenshots, and it’s not browser-specific (at least on a Mac). I’m seeing this in Chrome, Safari, and FF8.

I’m looking at it in Firebug, and see that although Yahoo has killed its ‘shortcuts’ functionality, there’s still some leftover behavior:

<span id="lw_1321626069_2" class="yshortcuts">Austin</span

It’s at this point in the email that Yahoo seems to say ‘oh look…we recognize that as an address…let’s grab it and start all over!’  I was testing a few weeks ago and actually saw one email repeated three times.

Anyone know how to completely override the Yahoo shortcuts?

Ryan

P.S. I would attach a screenshot, but I’m getting the same attachment error message someone else mentioned.


 

Michelle Klann

Avatar
Administrator
Total Posts:  204
Posted: 18 November 2011 09:55 AM
[ # 7 ]

Can someone post a sample code snippet so that we can try to isolate the issue?  I tried sending this and nothing was repeated:

<body>
This is my body copy GalvestonTexas
<
br />
<
br />
<
p>This is in a paragraph tag GalvestonTexas. </p>
<
br />
<
br />
<
div>This is in a div GalvestonTexas. </div>
</
body

To my knowledge, there is no way to overwrite Yahoo shortcuts but if this is a glitch, we might be able to find a way around it and/or write a blog post about it in hopes that Yahoo will resolve the issue.


 

rcb

Newbie
Total Posts:  3
Posted: 21 November 2011 11:19 AM
[ # 8 ]

This is a condensed version of the code. We send out our emails through iModules, so when we create an email, we’re essentially starting inside an unseen <body> tag:

<table>
<
tbody>
<
tr>
<
td>
<
p style="font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 12px; line-height: 1.8em;">
AustinTX 78713-7458<br />
Phone[phone]<br />
Toll free[phone]<br />
Email[email]<br />
Web[website]
</p>
</
td>
</
tr>
</
tbody>
</
table

When I look at the delivered email through Firebug, this is what it shows (starting with the paragraph tag above):

<p>...
<
span id="lw_1321893996_1" class="yshortcuts">AustinTX 78713-7458</span>
<
br />
Phone[phone]
<br />
Toll free[phone]
<br />
Email:
<
a style="color:rgb(204, 85, 0);font-weight:bold;" href="#" target="_blank" ymailto="#" rel="nofollow">[email]</a>
<
br />
Web:
<
a style="color:rgb(204, 85, 0);font-weight:bold;" href="#" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">[website]</a>
</
p

Yahoo starts from the detected shortcut above (the word “Austin”) and repeats the email after the first rendering, complete with a broken format. Snazzy.


 

rcb

Newbie
Total Posts:  3
Posted: 29 November 2011 10:13 AM
[ # 9 ]

Thanks to the info already existing on this site, I found a fix!

By applying the same Gmail phone number workaround used in this Email on Acid blog post, I received a single complete message in Yahoo without duplication.  All it took was adding the ­ character in front of the city, state, and zip; apparently, Yahoo no longer recognizes those as ‘shortcuts.’ Example below:

<p>...
&
#173;Austin, &#173;TX &#173;78713-7458<br />
Phone512&#173;-555&#173;-1212<br />
...</p

Ryan


 

Michelle Klann

Avatar
Administrator
Total Posts:  204
Posted: 29 November 2011 10:36 AM
[ # 10 ]

Thanks Ryan,

We will be sure to add this fix to our tips and tricks section for Yahoo.  Thanks again for pointing this out!

Cheers,
Miki